Unlawful And Dangerous Operation
Accidents And Casualties
You must stop and render whatever assistance is necessary to any person involved in a boating accident unless it would endanger your own boat or passengers. You cannot be held liable for any civil damages for any assistance rendered in good faith and in a prudent manner.
Boat operators involved in an accident must report it by the quickest means possible if there is:
In the case of a reportable accident, the operator or owner must file an accident report form supplied by the Georgia Department of Natural Resources.
Most reports of accidents must be made within 5 days of the accident. However, you must report an accident within 48 hours if a:
You must give your name, address and Certificate of Boat Registration information in writing to any injured person and to the owner of any damaged property if you are involved in a boating accident.
Primary responsibility for enforcement of the Georgia Boat Safety Act is with the conservation rangers of the Georgia Department of Natural Resources. However, all peace officers are also authorized to enforce the law.
BoatEd.com, Used by Permission, Copyright Â© 2000 by BoatEd.com
Navigate to Page:
Report poaching and wildlife violations. You can receive a cash reward if your tip leads to an arrest—even if you wish to remain anonymous.